Cs is

· Tieandjeans:iX

IS events as class assessment activity

run like the group IS practice, with a single/pair of topics revealed to group, everyone does the 90 sec prep, then spin the wheel and remove.

You can model this for free with HS students by having them each write a "pro / con" Clueless style prompt for the last group chat drama. (This is also, for the CS case, a great chance to talk about dramaturgy as socio-emotional abstraction).

That would generate a reasonable distribution of student performances, from "I gots a thing to say" all the way through "... when dogs get hungry...", with low to moderate intellectual stakes.1 We are encouraging students to be idiosyncratic, to help shape that curve.

The goal is to establish everyone's EV includes a p("the tango is a dance for two people") and that success in class does not require making Finals in Zurich. We are ice skating and falling down and it it is still fun.

If that's in place, then you can repurpose so much CS Ephemera material into IS prompts.

The inciting incident for this was I have a terrible shell script for grabbing a screenshot every second, which I export as video for ...reasons.2 I shut my laptop while that was running and found 6000 blank images 3.

I want to have a class where I can ask "what happens when you close your laptop" and one of them will have to stand and answer. And then, in theory, we all start to adjust our models.


  1. I mean, you could do "themes from the bluest eye" but.. I'd like to reserve the chance for the english faculty to try that out. I have a hard enough time figuring our who on campus can teach me how to run classes where kids read. ↩︎

  2. Right now mainly to have a workflow that I need to write scripts to deal with. But a good actual IS question: Do I own that data I've captured? What are the limits of what I can do with those bytes? ↩︎

  3. I with I had checked the filesize. My model says that they should be smaller files, because of some color based PNG compression ↩︎